Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#8668954 - 05/24/16 07:35 AM now.....wait for it.....and actual car question!
Raocorp Offline
Cougar Slayer
Post Master Sr

Loc: Toronto
Whenever I buy a new car I always change the tranny, oil but on the SX it has diffs too and I've never done diffs before.

I usually use a synthetic tranny fluid when I do that so I'm thinking of doing the same in the diffs on the SX. Any suggestions from the awd peeps? I was thinking of royal purple from Crappy rather than motormaster.
Tranny and diff oils are easy to change on this one so I might do it every 25-30 going forward. depends how lazy i get as the years go by. As it is right now I do about 10k a year but thats only because I live really close to work, which will be changing soon times as I progress through CPA.

Also, anyone use Motul in their cars? I was thinking of going Motul in the Mini for my next change. I only change the oil once a year on that one cuz it has like 8k or something interchange interval but I don't do anywhere near that so i'll just change it every summer. Did the first change last summer, took it to my mechanic and they used Mobil 1 Syn, but not a fan of Mobil 1 actually and will be doing my own changes going forward.

#8668976 - 05/24/16 08:18 AM Re: now.....wait for it.....and actual car question! [Re: Raocorp]
Screamin Type ARGH! Offline
High Value Poster
Post Master Supreme

Loc: T.O. - Canaduh
in the STI i used the oem fluid but when lapping i switched it to redline and it seemed good. quieter for sure. i can assume it holds (held up) better than the oem stuff. can't go wrong with motul here either, or maybe even royal purple if they make diff fluid? amsoil is another option.

as for motul, i run the 8100 xcess in the R and it's great. switch over from mobil 1. for honda/acura specific, the older RDX oil is awesome as well as it's highly rated. rotella T6 apparently is very good too as are some other brands like above.

Edited by Screamin DC2R (05/24/16 08:18 AM)