furball
(Post Master Sr)
11/24/14 07:53 AM
Recommend me a no-fee MasterCard vCostco

Any reco's for this?

I'm thinking of just getting the ghetto MC from my bank, RBC. It won't be seeing much action as it's specifically only for Costco purchases starting Jan 1. So given that, even those 2% cash back will be moot. I'll be lucky to get $10 back in a year..

I collect RBC points and AirMiles (via Shell, LCBO), but that's about it... No cray RFD-level Asian collecting...

I currently have:
- RBC Visa (since I was a uni student...) Collecting ghetto RBC points.
- Amex AirMiles (free) ... Primarily for Shell AirMiles.

Raocorp
(Post Master Sr)
11/24/14 08:26 AM
Re: Recommend me a no-fee MasterCard vCostco

i'm thinking of doing the same. But I was thinking of dumping all other CC's too .
I have one of each (V/MC/AX). I'm not a balance runner tho. I have a scene visa but I don't really go to movies all that often anymore so its become moot. Airmiles has become trash as well so I was thinking of dumping all and just having the costco MC.

loudsubz
(Post Master Supreme)
11/24/14 08:50 AM

What's wrong with the deal costco setup with a MasterCard company?

fatso
(Post Master)
11/24/14 09:29 AM

I was reading on costco.ca that they accept Visa for online purchases...

Quote:
All prices and dollar amounts on this site are in Canadian dollars. Costco.ca accepts the following credit cards: MasterCard (the preferred credit card of Costco.ca), VISA and American Express.

(http://www.costco.ca/online-shopping.html)

Maybe they accept Visa at the stores/pumps too... I haven't gotten around to trying it yet though.

SW20_MR2
(Post Master Sr)
11/24/14 11:15 AM

Your return on the Costco card is going to be shit if it's just Costco spend cause you earn 0.5% under $3k. It is really good for restaurants though at 3%.

Otherwise, the MBNA Smartcash is a decent card as is the Cap One Travel World Aspire, but that one has a fee.

furball
(Post Master Sr)
11/24/14 11:29 AM